Waiting

The galaxy is slow tonight
and I am getting impatient
as I wait for it
in my ball gown
and uncomfortable shoes

It’s so selfish
that galaxy
never thinking of anyone but itself
never considering
I might not want to be late to everything

I am seriously considering
leaving the galaxy
as it doesn’t really care about me
or much of anything
except its own slow expansion

A nearby solar system has reminded me
that there are plenty of galaxies in the universe
and I’ll surely find another
that is happy to treat me
with a bit of respect

Leave a Reply

