Anger

It has been decreed
in the hallowed halls
of the highest court
of this mystical land
that I am not allowed
to be angry

I can suffer in silence
and I can defer to my betters
and I can raise mild objections in a conciliatory tone
and I can let others speak
and I can allow myself to be interrupted
and I can smile
and I can sigh
and I can nurse the roiling mass of rage seething endlessly within my chest
but no anger
for me

The people who are allowed
to be angry
tend to high five
and offer each other jobs
as they stand companionably together
in office washrooms

Someday
I shall go on a quest
to discover the secret elixir
that will allow me access to anger
though my friends say
the elixir is a lie

I prefer to believe
it is not
and to nurse the anger
I am not allowed to feel
so that it grows sharp and pointy
and nobody notices
but I

Leave a Reply

