Lingering Cough

Lingering cough,
why do you linger?
Why do you torture me,
brave and alone?
Why don’t you wander
off into the wastelands?
Why must you come here,
lingering cough?

I wish I could
eat a banana,
but you have made me
incapable of that.
You are a bastard,
and I am an invalid.
I am quite mad at you,
lingering cough.

Lingering cough,
what is your secret?
Why so persistent?
When will you die?
I am so sad that
I may just skip breakfast.
I am not fond of you,
lingering cough.

Leave a Reply

