Bookcase

Will my bookcase break today?
It is probably only a matter of time.
Every day
I watch the top shelf bowing gracefully downward
beneath the weight of the books too tall
for the lower shelves
and I wonder:
will it be today?
Will it be violent?
Will it cause a chain reaction
that eventually ends in despair
and a visit from my landlady?
Or will the shelf hold
for one more day
tempting me
in the process
to add more books to it
and stick my tongue out at fate
for just a little longer?

One thought on “Bookcase

Leave a Reply

