Ode to a Problematic Pulled Pork Sandwich

O Sandwich
you glisten in the moonlight
which you probably shouldn’t do–
I mean
I have never associated the word “sandwich” with the word “glisten” before
but you have fundamentally shifted
my point of view

I have always believed that a sandwich
should not have to be eaten with
a knife and fork
but again
you have shattered my world
O Sandwich

The bottom of the bun
used to make you
should really not be that soggy
or is there meaning behind your sogginess
and tragic profundity
behind your accompanying coleslaw?

Ravish me
O Sandwich
since I am finding it rather difficult
to ravish you

Leave a Reply

